Skip to content

2022 MLB Awards Week Preview

Champion golden trophy for winner background. Success and achievement concept. Sport and cup award theme.

The World Series champion has been crowned. Next up is Awards Week. The winners of the major regular-season awards will be announced, garnering fan acclaim (or griping) and bonus payouts from owners.

Here are the finalists and my choices for the likely winners to be announced starting tonight.

Monday, November 14 – Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

American League Finalists:

  1. Steven Kwan, Guardians OF
  2. Julio Rodríguez, Mariners OF
  3. Adley Rutschman, Orioles C

Rodríguez was a blue-chip prospect and one of only three MLB rookies in the 25-25 (25 homers, 25 stolen bases) club.

National League Finalists:

  1. Brendan Donovan, Cardinals UTIL
  2. Michael Harris II, Atlanta OF
  3. Spender Strider, Atlanta P

Strider finished 2022 with a 2.67 ERA (152 ERA+) and 202 strikeouts over just 131.2 IP.

Tuesday, November 15 – Manager of the Year

American League Finalists:

  1. Terry Francona, Guardians
  2. Brandon Hyde, Orioles
  3. Scott Servais, Mariners

Seattle won 90 games under Servais and made the postseason for the first time since 2001.

  1. Dave Roberts, Dodgers
  2. Buck Showalter, Mets
  3. Brian Snitker, Atlanta

The Dodgers posted MLB’s high-water mark of 111 wins under Roberts, a franchise record.

Wednesday, November 16 – Cy Young Award

American League Finalists:

  1. Dylan Cease, White Sox SP
  2. Alek Manoah, Blue Jays SP
  3. Justin Verlander, Astros SP

Verlander is a favorite of the voters and led MLB with a 1.75 ERA over 28 starts.

National League Finalists:

  1. Sandy Alcantara, Marlins SP
  2. Max Fried, Atlanta SP
  3. Julio Urías, Dodgers SP

Urías led the Dodgers’ 116-win 2022 campaign and finished with a National League-best 2.16 ERA.

Thursday, November 17 – MVP Award

American League Finalists:

Yordan Álvarez, Astros DH/LF
Aaron Judge, Yankees OF
Shohei Ohtani, Angels SP/DH

Judge finished 4th in the 2021 MVP voting. He is the presumptive favorite this year after breaking Roger Maris’s American League single-season home run record and finishing first in two out of three batting Triple Crown categories.

National League Finalists:

Nolan Arenado, Cardinals 3B
Paul Goldschmidt, Cardinals 1B
Manny Machado, Padres 3B

All three top finalists would be first-time winners. Machado carried the Padres to a playoff spot without the help of Fernando Tatis Jr., who missed the entire season after suffering injuries and a positive PED test. Machado could take the trophy thanks to some vote splitting between the Cardinals candidates.

Tune into MLB Network at 6 PM ET Monday-Thursday this week to watch the live award announcements.